“Chakra” in Sanskrit means “wheel”. There are a total of seven main chakras, or spinning wheels of energy, that runs vertically through our bodies connecting the physical body, mind, and spirit. These wheels refer to the body’s main energy centers that work directly with the energy of our thoughts, feelings, experiences, and actions.  In short, chakras act as conductors for energetic harmony throughout our entire being.

An open or high-functioning chakra is the key to our general well-being. We experience good physical health, aligned emotions, a clear mind, self-confidence, love, and a sense of spiritual connection in this state of being.

Alternatively, when a chakra is hindered or “blocked” it means that the energy center is not functioning as it should. With a malfunctioning chakra, an individual can experience possible mental health issues, behavioral issues, mood swings, physical ailments, and more. This is where chakra balancing therapies are beneficial to bring everything back into alignment. We encourage you to learn more about our Reiki and Crystal Therapy energy healing services for balancing chakras by scheduling a Chakra Reading to get started!

Learn more about the 7 main chakras and their correspondences below.


Root chakra symbol colored Red
1. Root Chakra (Muladhara)
Located at the base of the spine, the root chakra is our foundation. The Sanskrit word ‘Muladhara’ translates to ‘root support’ or ‘pillar’.
Correlations with the root chakra include:
    • Function: Security, Safety, Stability, Comfort, Grounding
    • Colors: Red
    • Element: Earth
    • Affirmation: “I exist” or “I am”
    • Crystals: Black Tourmaline, Bloodstone, Hematite, Onyx, Red Jasper, Red Tigers Eye, Garnet, Smokey Quartz
    • Essential Oils: Vetiver, Cedarwood, Angelica, Black Pepper, Patchouli, Myrrh
    • Bija Mantra: Lam
Sacral chakra symbol colored orange
2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)
The sacral chakra is located in the pelvic area of the body. Svadisthana translates to ‘your own seat’ or ‘one’s own place’.
Correlations with the sacral chakra include:
    • Function: Sensuality, Passion, Pleasure, Creativity, Emotion
    • Colors: Orange
    • Element: Water
    • Affirmation: “I desire” or “I feel”
    • Crystals: Carnelian, Orange Calcite, Peach Moonstone, Sunstone
    • Essential Oils: Ginger, Blood Orange, Cinnamon, Coriander, Fennel, Clary Sage, Sandalwood
    • Bija Mantra: Vam 
Solar Plexus chakra symbol colored yellow
3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)
Located in the abdomen (near the stomach) about 2 inches above the belly button. This area is commonly referred to as the “core”. ‘Manipura’ translates from Sanskrit to mean ‘lustrous gem’ or ‘jewel city’.
Correlations with the solar plexus chakra include:
    • Function: Power, Courage, Confidence, Self Esteem, Digestion
    • Colors: Yellow, Gold
    • Element: Fire
    • Affirmation: “I control” or “I do”
    • Crystals: Citrine, Honey Calcite, Amber, Yellow Jasper, Tigers Eye, Pyrite, Yellow Apatite
    • Essential Oils: Grapefruit, Neroli, Tea Tree, Lemon
    • Bija Mantra: Ram
4. Heart Chakra (Anahata)
You can find the heart chakra located chest near the center of the spine and just above our physical heart. It is our body’s center of energy. In Sanskrit, ‘Anahata’ translates to ‘Unstruck’, ‘Unhurt’, or  ‘Unspoiled’.
Correlations with the heart chakra include:
    • Function: Love, Compassion, Abundance
    • Colors: Pink, Green
    • Element: Air
    • Affirmation: “I love”
    • Crystals: Rose Quartz, Rhodochrosite, Rhodonite, Ruby, Cobalto Calcite, Green Aventurine, Moss Agate, Unakite, Malachite
    • Essential Oils: Jasmine, Lavender, Bergamot, Rose, Ylang Ylang
    • Bija Mantra: Yam
5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)
You can find the throat chakra in the center of the throat, near the thyroid. The sanskrit word ‘Vishuddha’ translates to ‘purification’ or ‘especially pure’.
Correlations with the throat chakra include:
    • Function: Communication, Self-Expression, Truth
    • Colors: Blue, Light Blue, Turquoise
    • Element: Sound/Ether
    • Affirmation: “I speak”
    • Crystals: Blue Lace Agate, Amazonite, Angelite, Aquamarine, Blue Apatite, Turquoise, Blue Kyanite, Blue Tigers Eye
    • Essential Oils: Eucalyptus, Peru Balsam, Lemongrass, Chamomile, Bay Leaf, Peppermint
    • Bija Mantra: Ham
6. Third-Eye/Brow Chakra (Ajna)
Our third eye chakra is located at the forehead, just above and between the eyes. The chakra word ‘Ajna’ translates to ‘command center’ or ‘knowledge’.
Correlations with the third-eye chakra include:
    • Function: Insight, Intuition, Visualization, Imagination, Instinct
    • Colors: Dark Blue, Indigo
    • Element: Light
    • Affirmation: “I see”
    • Crystals: Azurite, Lapis Lazuli, Labradorite, Fluorite, Iolite, Sodalite
    • Essential Oils: Blue Lotus, Juniper, Mugwort, Patchouli, Lavender
    • Bija Mantra: Sham, Aum/Om.
7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)
The crown chakra is our highest chakra and is located at the top-most point of the head, or the crown. The Sanskrit word ‘Sahasrara’ translates to ‘Thousand Fold’ or ‘Thousand Petaled’.
Correlations with the crown chakra include:
    • Functions: Knowledge, Fulfillment, Self-Realization, Spirituality
    • Colors: Purple, Violet, White
    • Element: Thought
    • Affirmation: ” I understand”
    • Crystals: Amethyst, Selenite, Lepidolite, Clear Quartz, Fluorite, Moonstone, Clear/Optical Calcite
    • Essential Oils: Lavender, Palo Santo, Pink Lotus, Spikenard, Frankincense
    • Bija Mantra: Om, Ah, Soham


If you are ready to take control of your well-being and want to experience a rejuvenating path to improved health and wellness, schedule an appointment today!